Uncategorized

Living with Dyslexia

Dyslexia is a common problem, that is different for each person affected. while living I’ve learned some tricks that work for me, hopefully they’ll help you to.

Speech to Text

Most computers have Speech to Text. I can’t use it all the time, but if I hit a word I can’t spell then I use it. It works pretty well, I’ve never used it to write a whole paper. Also the opposite Text to Speech can help find grammatical and spelling errors.

Learning by Listening

A lot of the required(classics) reading books are in audio book form. Instead of guessing what the words mean I know. It helps with getting correct information, which helps in giving correct answers.

Typing Speed

No clue why this works but as I’ve increased my typing speed I’ve had less mistakes. There are a lot of free places to increase typing speed.

 

Proof Read

I mentioned using Text to Speech(which most computers have) early, but just rereading helps a lot. It also let’s you know what words you’re having problems with. If you can find someone else who’s willing to proof read that helps more than anything.

Reading and Listening

This is going to sound silly, but if you listen to an audio book while reading the same book you can hear and see the words. I found this helps me, but it does feel silly.

If there’s something that help you I’d love to hear about it.

Leave a Reply

