Status Quo, forget it

I haven’t posted anything in a while. I’ve been asking myself some serious questions, and trying to figure out the answers.

I know myself pretty well, for the most part I know my likes and dislikes, but for whatever reason I don’t know what I want out of life. When people ask me what I want to do with my life, I answer with whatever I’m interested in now.

That’s probably why people think I what to be a physicist, a programmer, a doctor, an astronomer, etc etc… The list goes on and on.

In another post I think I told you that I go through the phases of understanding(finding it, learning about it, doing it, understanding it, forgetting about it). I have a million hobbies, that I will work on for months, then forget about. For example, I spent a month crocheting a blanket(or comforter), I haven’t crocheted in 4 months. I still know how and will crochet in the future, but right now it just doesn’t interest me.

That’s been my life, and it’s not a bad life, in fact I’m happy with it. I know a little bit about everything.

The only problem is that a lot of people have been brain washed into thinking that you need to find one thing you’re good at, get trained in it, then support yourself for the next 60 years by doing that one thing.

I don’t want to do the same thing for 60 years. I don’t want to do the same thing for 1 year. Thankfully there are already people out there who’ve decided the same thing, and they’ve shared the blueprint. The only problem is that most of these had to experience the status quo before trying something new.

2 thoughts on “Status Quo, forget it

Leave a Reply

